LAlapsambEL and the City

Books… and Life

Posted on: May 2, 2009

Thanks to my sister who brought me to Gramedia Book Fair in Sabuga. Actually, I did not  expect much and did not plan to buy anything (I bought a book last week and haven’t read it)… until I found books for Rp 5.000 – Rp10.000 only! And they ARE good, or even great, seriously! Not those cheesy chick-lit or anything! So, finally I bought 2 translated books and 1 Indonesian book. Now, what’s important is what the books are all about.

I think I have become so anxious of entering the real life. I mean.. I’m going to graduate soon and enter the real world out there. Even if I haven’t finished my final project, when I have no more classes to attend, I think it means that it’s my time to finish college and not a time to slack off and delay my graduation. Don’t take it wrong, when you haven’t graduated but you do something other than your final project such as business, projects, or anything, I do appreciate it. I count it as entering the real world, hehehe. I might just take all this post-graduation life too seriously, but I do think about it a lot of times.

Unconsciously, all the books I bought, including 1 English book I got last week, are about planning life for someone who will or has just graduated, someone like me. I can’t say much about books I haven’t read, but let me just mention the titles to show how paranoid I am😛 So, here’s the list:

  • Get a Financial Life – Financial Life in Your Twenties and Thirties (TGA BIP – Rp25.000)
  • You Can Do It! – translated from “”Ten Things I Wish I’d Known Before I Went Out into the Real World” (BIP Stand, Sabuga – Rp 10.000)
  • Keberuntungan Bukanlah Kebetulan – translated from “”Luck is No Accident” (BIP Stand, Sabuga – Rp 10.000)
  • Menata Karier Menuju Kebebasan Finansial (Kompas Stand, Sabuga – Rp4.000 after 20% discount from Rp5.000)

I have just skimmed the “You Can Do It!” one, and I feel so lucky for picking this book. This copy was the only one left on the display, yaaay! It’s written by Maria Shriver, a journalist, the wife of Arnold Schwarzenegger, and a mother to 4 children. She explained how she comes from a rich family and people thought she only worked for fun, how she started her career from the bottom, how she kept her values at work, how marriage and having kids changed her career, and how finally she sees life more realistically. She’s just a human, and there’s no such thing as superwoman. Even though I haven’t read it thoroughly, it already motivates me to do something I really want and makes me realize that no one can be super at everything. She even wrote a sarcasm on “steps to make yourself depressed”, such as comparing with other people, not looking at our competence, etc. Oh my God, isn’t that what I always do when I’m down?! In short, I feel that she really was like me when she was my age. I always like it when I see other people think or feel the same like me, even better if they can motivate me, like what this writer does in this book.😉

As usual, if you feel like going to the book fair, it’s still on until tomorrow. Pssst, it’s not as crowded as book fairs in Jakarta, and it even has better books!

Just another info: Today I also had a massage with my aunt and sister at Bersih Sehat, Jalan Gempol. It’s soooo good! Highly recommended if you have money. Rp70,000 for 1 hour massage, Rp120,000 for 1.5 hour body scrub, a.k.a lulur. Of course I had it as a treat, otherwise I would just asked Teh Nunung, my housekeeper who’s also a masseuse, to put on body srub I bought at Gasibu, and that all will cost much lower than that, hehehe.

3 Responses to "Books… and Life"

It’s obvious that somehow books has some invisible force to human feelings,.
Sometimes they give us motivation and ideas in life,.🙂

Hi book fair lovers, I like to hunting on book fair too, like you say You Can Do It!

books=accelerator knowledge for me: no need to attending the class, and i got the lectures from books..

visit my blog,, http://ikhwanalim.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

